Found my way back

10Sep12

It’s been so long since I visited my own blog I not only forgot my password I also forgot my username. But about a week ago my dear friend Paige mentioned to me that I need to start typing my bizarre feelings about running instead of just thinking them (not her words; she’s far too nice).

Anyway, somehow I’ve managed to keep running all these months. Some weeks have been more consistent than others and I’ve talked myself out of more than one run. And while I’m nowhere near the point where I actually enjoy it I’ve finally begun to appreciate how wonderful it is. Does that make sense? Let me put it this way: I LOVE that I get to lace up my shoes, head out the door and ten minutes later end up in an entirely different city (not a huge accomplishment as it’s just across the street). I LOVE that I feel like part of a community of runners and it’s the height of rudeness not to wave at everyone I pass. I LOVE how accomplished and amazing I feel after each run, especially because I now live on top of a hill and the last couple minutes are like reaching a mountaintop.

But there’s so much I don’t love. I have to psych myself up before each and every run. I have to think about all the past failed attempts and remind myself I never again want to do Day 1 Week 1 of Couch to 5K. I have to trick myself into running longer by only letting myself turn around once the disembodied voice in my Nike + tells me me I’ve completed my run. And really, thank goodness for that hill because the first five minutes of any run for me have always been torture. The fact that I get to run them downhill for the most part has basically been my saving grace these past few weeks. And it’s only going to get worse in a couple weeks. If it’s hard to talk myself into a run when it’s 70 degrees and blue skies out imagine what it’s going to be like when it’s pouring buckets.

Oh well, must keep running, must keep typing.

One Response to “Found my way back”

  1. Proud of you pounding the pavement. Thanks for inspiration and sharing your LOVES throughout the challenge of running : ) I LOVE you and your writing!


Leave a Reply

